Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


  • Environmental portraits of Jaewoo Lee 'data mining' in a gold mine.

    Undergraduate Programs

    The CS curriculum covers the design principles of key computing technologies such as hardware, operating systems, database systems, networks, graphics, and artificial intelligence.

  • Kang Li with Students in Science Library iWall Room

    Graduate Programs

    The School of Computing is filled with energetic and creative professors whose interests cover many of the growing or emerging research areas in computer science. 

  • Omid Setayeshfar, Roxana Attar, Yue Yin, and Ruoyan Cai are graduate students in CS

    Research Clusters

    The faculty of the School of Computing is composed of energetic and creative professors whose interests cover many of the growing or emerging research areas in Computer Science. 

Interim Director's Welcome

***The School of Computing is currently searching for its Founding Director. More information can be found about this process here***

In 1984, the Computer Science Department at UGA was established with 8 faculty and an undergraduate program. Shortly thereafter, the MAMS degree was added, and in 1987 the MS in CS was approved. The PhD program in CS was approved in 1993 and began in 1995. 

We have now grown to include 35 faculty members, 235 enrolled graduate students, and 1498 undergraduate majors, 105 in the BS in Data Science, and to serve thousands of non-major undergraduates. 

We offer B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science, an MS in Cybersecurity and Privacy, and our graduates have gone on to prestigious positions in academia, industry, and at private and federal research labs. 

On July 01, 2022, the Computer Science Department has been elevated to a School of Computing.

Thank you for visiting us on the Web. We invite you to visit us on campus. Please contact us if you would like to schedule a visit.

Thiab R. Taha, Interim Director





Read more about this transition

View our Interim Director's Welcome

Featured Content

Latest News

Dr. Le Guan has won the Career Award and received a 5-year grant from the NSF.
Sudhan Chitgopkar, an undergraduate Computer Science and International Affairs major, has been selected to receive the Presidential Award of Excellence. Each year, recipients are honored by the President's Office from among the brightest undergraduate students at UGA.
Prof. Prashant Doshi and graduate alumni Evan Johnston have been awarded a Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) grant from NSF to conduct R&D in order to make technology derived in part from THINC Lab research ready for commercialization.

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Graduate Program

The School of Computing offers the Master of Science (MS) ( thesis and non-thesis)  and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in computer science, and an interdisciplinary Masters in Applied Mathematical Sciences (MAMS) degree. 

At the graduate-level, the department also offers a Cyberscurity Certificate program.

Prospective students may apply online to any of the above Graduate Degree programs by visiting the Graduate School website at

Learn More

Boyd Graduate Studies Building